Winners of the Sousa/ABA/Ostwald Award


List of Winners and Selected Highlights from the Collection


1956: Clifton Williams, Fanfare and Allegro
1957: Clifton Williams, Symphonic Suite
1958: James Mark Quinn, Portrait of the Land
1959: Maurice Weed, Introduction and Scherzo
1960: Florian Mueller, Overture in G
1961: Joseph Willcox Jenkins, Cumberland Gap Overture
1962: Fritz Velke, Concertino for Band
1963: Frederic H. Ashe, Concert Suite
1964: Robert E. Jager, Symphony for Band
1965: Frederick Beyer, Overture for Band
1966: John Barnes Chance, Variations on a Korean Folk Song
1967: Lawrence Weiner, Daedalic Symphony
1968: Robert E. Jager, Diamond Variations
1969: Richard Willis, Aria and Toccata
1970: Fisher Tull, Toccata


1971: Karl Kroeger, Divertimento for Concert Band
1972: Robert E. Jager, Sinfonietta
1973: Roger Nixon, Festival Fanfare March
1974: James S. Sclater, Visions
1975: Robert M. Panerio Sr., Jubiloso
1976: Loretta Jankowski, Todesband
1977: William H. Hill, Danses Sacred and Profane
1978: James Barnes, Symphony, Opus 35
1980: James E. Curnow, Mutanza


1981: James Barnes, Visions Macabre
1982: David R. Holsinger, Armies of the Omnipresent Otserf
1983: Martin Mailman, Exaltations
1984: James E. Curnow, Symphonic Variants for Euphonium and Band
1985: Joseph H. Downing, Symphony for Winds and Percussion
1986: David R. Holsinger, In the Spring, at the Time When the Kings Go Off to War
1987: David Sartor, Synergistic Parable
1988: Dana Wilson, Piece of Mind
1989: Martin Mailman, For Precious Friends Hid in Death's Dateless Night
1990: Gregory Youtz, Fire Works


1991: Timothy Mahr, The Soaring Hawk
1992: Timothy Mahr, Endurance - Commission
1993: Ron Nelson, Passacaglia (Homage on B-A-C-H)
1994: Ron Nelson, Chaconne (In Memoriam...) - Commission
1995: Anthony Iannaccone, Sea Drift
1996: Anthony Iannaccone, Psalms for a Great Country - Commission
1997: Dan Welcher, Zion
1998: Dan Welcher, Circular Marches - Commission
1999: Donald Grantham, Fantasy Variations
2000: Donald Grantham, Southern Harmony


2002: Peter Graham, Harrison's Dream
2005: John Mackey, Redline Tango
2007: Michael Daugherty, Raise the Roof
2009: John Mackey, Aurora Awakes
2011: Yo Goto, Songs for Wind Ensemble
2012: Michael Gandolfi, Flourishes and Meditations on a Renaissance Theme
2013: Aaron Perrine, Pale Blue on Deep
2014: Steven Bryant, Concerto for Alto Saxophone
2015: Aaron Perrine, Only Light
2016: Paul Dooley, Masks and Machines
2017: Christopher Lowry, A Cypress Prelude
2018: James Stephenson, Symphony No. 2 - “Voices"

Note: No winner was chosen in 1979 or 2001. The contest was not held in 2003, 2004, 2006, or 2010.

Clifton Williams won the first ABA/Ostwald Award in 1956 for his Fanfare and Allegro.

"I never visualized that winning this Award could push a composer three years ahead in his career."
Adolph Ostwald, 1964
The Compositions of William H. Hill Cover of an album of California State University-Los Angeles playing the music of William Hill (1977).

Third movement to Anthony Iannaccone's Sea Drift, winner of the 1995 award.

Michael Daugherty, Raise the RoofCover to the score of Raise the Roof by Michael Daugherty (2007).

Robert Jager and Adolph Ostwald, 1964 Robert Jager receiving the 1964 award from Adolph Ostwald for Symphony for Band.

Festival Fanfare-March by Roger Nixon (1973).

David Holsinger CD featuring the music of David Holsinger, including his Armies of the Omnipresent Otserf (1982).

Dan Welcher, Circular Marches Excerpt of Circular Marches by Dan Welcher, commissioned for the 1998 ABA/Ostwald Award.

Exaltations by Martin Mailman (1983)