Government Issue Logo

Government Issue

Through their initial nine-year run and multiple reunions, Government Issue (G.I.) served as a bellwether of the changing tides of the scene, an influence on where it would go next, and a training ground of sorts for the numerous musicians who served in their rotating line-up. Formed and helmed by vocalist John Stabb at the end of 1980, some of the notable musicians who performed in G.I. included Tom Lyle, Brian Baker of Minor Threat and Dag Nasty, Mike Fellows of Rites of Spring, Steve Hangsen of Minor Threat, Pete Moffett of Wool and Burning Airlines, Rob Moss of Artificial Peace, Mitch Parker of Crippled Pilgrims, and J. Robbins of Jawbox and Burning Airlines. G.I.’s sound changed greatly over its time from the driving hardcore of their debut EP Legless Bull to the more layered, melodic post-hardcore sound on You, leaving a lasting legacy from a crucial decade in the D.C. scene.

Drawn from the Paul Bushmiller collection on punk, the Sharon Cheslow Punk Flyers collection, the D.C. punk collection, and the D.C. punk and indie fanzine collection at Special Collections in Performing Arts at the University of Maryland.

Tap or hover over an image to learn more.