Bad Brains Logo

The Slickee Boys

Active from 1976 through 1991, with numerous short reunions in the years since, the Slickee Boys played a self-described ‘slickee-delic’ blend of psychedelic and garage rock, new wave, rockabilly, exotica, and punk that made them local favorites and helped establish the D.C. punk scene. The Slickee Boys were stalwarts of the scene in the late 1970s and early 1980s, serving as mentors to many in the initial hardcore wave. Founding guitarists Kim Kane and Marshall Keith the only constants for most of the band’s run and their defining lineup was established in 1979 with vocalist Mark Noone and bassist Emory Alexa joining Kane, Keith, and drummer Dan Palenski for the group’s creative peak. A trio of singles from 1979-1981—Third, “The Brain That Refused To Die,” and “Here To Stay”—and 1983’s Cybernetic Dreams of Pi LP found the Slickee Boys at the peak of their powers. Also notable is the band’s record for the most performances at D.C. long-running 9:30 Club, with 81 shows in total.

Drawn from the Paul Bushmiller collection on punk, the Sharon Cheslow punk flyers collection, the D.C. punk collection, the D.C. punk and indie fanzine collection, the Skip Groff papers, and the Robbie White collection on the Slickee Boys.

Tap or hover over an image to learn more.