MAC to Millennium


Japan Prize — Alumnus James A. Yorke (Ph.D. 1966) shared the 2003 Japan Prize in recognition of his ground-breaking research that led to the development of the mathematical concept of "chaos."  The prize is awarded by the Science and Technology Foundation of Japan to recognize individuals from around the world whose achievements in science and technology have "advanced the frontiers of knowledge and served the cause of peace and prosperity for mankind."

Jeopardy — Four Terps are known to have been contestants on the popular Jeopardy game show.  Erik Agard, Class of 2015, won $66,802 in four appearances on the show in October 2018.  Alumnus Jeffery Amoros captured $32,801 in his appearances on June 29 and 30, 2011.  Jordan Boyd-Graber, an associate professor of computer science, also appeared on the show, on September 26, 2018, and Sala Levin, Class of 2001, on September 1, 2016.  Graduate student Steven Reich is the latest Terp to take on this challenge, coming in second on the October 9, 2019, show.

Jewish Studies, Meyerhoff Center for — Established in 1980 through a gift from Harvey Meyerhoff; named for Joseph and Rebecca Meyerhoff.

Jimenez Hall — Constructed in 1962; named for Spanish poet Juan Ramόn Jiménez a member of the faculty from 1948 to 1951.  Friends and colleagues in College Park nominated him for the Nobel Prize for Literature, which he won in 1956. While at the university, Jiménez conducted seminars in Spanish literature and taught advanced Spanish composition.

Journalism, Phillip Merrill College of — Founded in 1947. In 2001, Philip Merrill, publisher and owner of The Capital (Annapolis) and the Washingtonian magazine, made a $10 million gift to the College of Journalism. In recognition of his generosity, the school was renamed the Philip Merrill College of Journalism.  For more information, visit the Merrill College of Journalism website.

Journalism Building — Constructed in 1957; home of the College of Journalism until 2010, when it relocated to Knight Hall. After a 2010-2011 renovation it was renamed Chincoteague Hall.  The building now houses offices for various units in the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences.

Jull Hall — Constructed in 1953; named for Morley A. Jull, chair of the Poultry Department.